Early years (0-5) education

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a framework of learning, development and care for children from birth to 5 years old. It enables your child to learn through a range of activities, such as learning through play.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

Areas of learning
Your child will mostly be taught through games and play. The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design